Documentation

Guides to help you get started

Limiting the number of allowed logins

Support Request

If you need help with restrict, submit a support request, and we will get back to you shortly.

Submit a Support Request

If you’re restricting the content on your website with the Restrict WordPress plugin, it is highly likely that you don’t want to allow the access to the content to anyone that is not intended to get the access to that content. Because of this, the users on your website must be logged in with their usernames and passwords in order to access certain restricted content regardless of what restriction criteria you will be using. But, unfortunately, there will always be people that will try to “beat the system” and will share their login credentials with some third parties and you can’t do anything to prevent this.

But, the one thing you can do is to limit the number of allowed concurrent logins for your registered users. This can be done rather simply by utilizing plugins such as the one found here.

Upon installation and activation of this plugin, head to the Settings -> General and then scroll all the way down where you will find these settings:

First setting, labeled as Maximum Active Logins will, as you expect, allow you to set the number of allowed active logins.

Below that, you can affect the logic of the login: for example, if you set this to Allow, then the customer will be able to login even if the allowed number of logins is reached but the other currently logged in users will be logged out. Contrary to this, if you select Block once the number of allowed logins is reached, each further attempt to log in will be simply blocked.

Lastly, Force Logout option will allow you to force logout the user by entering their user ID.

 

Use case

This comes in particularly handy if you’re using some kind of time-sensitive restricted content. For example, if you’re streaming some online course on your website to which you have restricted the access only to particular users who, say, need to pay to access this content. So with this, you will be effectively blocking access to your content to multiple users using the same login credentials.